Who is The Morrigan to me?

Just recently ive seen a lot of Debate on who the Morrigan is and people who see her as a Mother figure are they right or Wrong etc etc.

Sometimes I think that people forget that while we might all be connected to The Morrigan in whatever way she sees fit. Every individual path is different, Every experience is different, and every person is different.

Personally since I’ve been on my path with the Morrigan I’ve changed. I’ve gone from being a woman sat there scratching my head saying “what does a great warrior goddess want with me” to a deeper understanding of why she called me.

I found out very early on that she works with new healers. Okay great I understood at least on some level. If you think about it healers see all sorts of things. They have to be tough. They have to emotionally and physically strong. They have to be determined. They never give up. They go to some of the darkest places even facing death and acceptance that sometimes you can only help not cure.

So in the truest sense of the word a healer isn’t a pick up your sword and slay everyone in the name of the Morrigan type of Warrior, But a Warrior never the less.

Now on to the Mother argument. I see The Morrigan as a Mother! Maybe because my own is not doing what she should be? And the closest woman I had to a Mother is now in spirit. Perhaps all those factors and the fact that I’ve been through a lot of shit in my 37 years, means that I get Mama Morrigan. I don’t really know.

She’s in my case a tough mother. I get so much tough love that some times I can’t see straight. I’ve cut a lot of people out of my life that were bad for me or dragged me down. This has left me with a really small circle and an even smaller threshold for trust. With so much more crap to get rid off.

I’ve always had a fascination with the Crone aspect of the generic “Goddess” applying maiden, Mother and Crone to my own life, I got dragged into mother aspect rather quickly. With my son now approaching 18 I feel that I’m looking forward to becoming an old Crone. In as such I don’t hide my wrinkles, I embrace my eccentric ways and only feel comfortable around my dogs and small family.

So enter Badb (Baithe). The Crone aspect of the Morrigan. I’m not even going to sit here and pretend I know enough to write about her here but after doing some reading and a beautiful guided meditation in which I actually met Badb, although I referred to her as the Crone. I realised that this was actually an extension of my path. After always seeing the Morrigan as a young red head this was something new for me. I embraced it.you know who you are thank you 💜

I have a lot of Ghosts to lay to rest, ghosts of the past. Real shit I need to deal with. And working with Badb on this is my next task on my personal path.

I love this photo of the washer at the Ford. Alan Lathwell I really hope you don’t mind me using this beautiful painting.

The thing is you as the reader will have a whole different situation, A totally different relationship with the Morrigan. And as long as your happy with it that’s all that matters. Listen to the more experienced, the teachers and the leaders. But when you set foot on that path the route must be your own.

Bright blessings and Hail Morrigan.

2 thoughts on “Who is The Morrigan to me?

Leave a comment